Tshiebwe makes UK history and wins all six Player of the Year awards | Ap State

LEXINGTON (KT) — The final result was unanimous.

Oscar Tshiebwe became the first player in Kentucky history to sweep the top six national players of the year after winning the John R. Wooden award on Tuesday night.

It is the latest addition to the trophy cabinet of Tshiebwe, who has also won Naismith Player of the Year, NABC National Player of the Year, AP Player of the Year, Pete Newell Big Man of the Year, Oscar Robertson Trophy, Sporting News Player of the Year, SEC Player of the Year and was a consensus first-team All-American selection.

“I just give all the glory to God because whatever happens is amazing,” he said last week. “(I) Give all the glory to God and thank God for everything. I thank my family, my coaches, my friends, my teammates, everyone who helped me get to where I am today. I am very grateful for each of them. And I’m very grateful. I can’t wait to see what God will do with me.

Tshiebwe became the first player in Southeastern Conference history to win all six major awards. Since its inception in 1977, 28 players have won all six major awards. He became the second player coached by John Calipari to achieve the feat – the other was Marcus Camby in 1996 at Massachusetts.

More than 1,000 voters selected Tshiebwe based on criteria established by Wooden and the Wooden Award Steering Committee. Former Kentucky star Anthony Davis won the award in 2012 after leading the Wildcats to the national championship.

Comments are closed.